top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Book Quotes

Hello Everyone,

This week has been crazy, I have been typing up another assignment and getting as much reading done as possible to finish off the books I started in January.

So this week’s top ten Tuesday is a freebie so I thought I would list some of my favourite quotes. I have encountered many incredible quotes in Fellowship of the Ring alone but I will not list just those. I have tried noting favourite ones on my phone over the years but it sometimes falls through the cracks, these may not seem like much but I love them all the same.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

All quotes are from the 2011 Harpercollins edition

1. Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

“‘Despair, or folly?’ said Gandalf. ‘It is not despair, for despair is only for those who see the end beyond all doubt. We do not. It is wisdom to recognise necessity, when all other courses have been weighed, though as folly it may appear to those who cling to false hope. Well, let folly be our cloak, a veil before the eyes of the enemy!’”

Tolkien, 2011 ed, p. 269.

2. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

‘You’ll still fancy me tomorrow no matter how much you wish otherwise. I’m unpredictable, and you adore it. Just as I cannot wrap my massive brain around the equation of you and yet adore it.’ – Thomas Cresswell

Maniscalco, 2016.

3. The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy

‘Tears fall for a reason and they are your strength not weakness’

Mackesy, 2019.

4. The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni

‘Our scars define us. They tell a story of courage and survival. They tell of who we are at our deepest being, of the challenges we’ve faced and overcome.’

Noni, 2021.

5. Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

‘Let that be a lesson to you: If you are too good and too quiet for too long, It will cost you. It will always cost you, in the end.’

Harrow, 2019.

6. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

‘You may tell a tale that takes up residence in someone’s soul, becomes their blood and self and purpose. That tale will move them and drive them and who knows that they might do because of it, because of your words. That is your role, your gift.’

Morgenstern, 2011.

7. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

“Then perhaps we should carve a world one day where the strength lies in who you are, rather than in what they expect you to be.”

Chupeco, 2017.

8. The Secret History by Donna Tartt


“But if I’ve learned one thing in my short sad life, it is that that particular platitude is a lie. Love doesn’t conquer everything. And whoever thinks it does is a fool.”

Tartt, 1992.

9. The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

“‘Tresure it, Lady,’ he answered, ‘in memory of your words to me at our first meeting. And if ever i return to the smithes of my home, it shall be set in imperishable crystal to be an heirloom of my house, and a pledge of good will between the Mountain and the Wood until the end of days.'”

Tolkien, 2011 ed, p. 376.

10. The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

‘The strongest must seek a way, say you? But I say: let a ploughman plough, but choose an otter for swimming, and for running light over grass and leaf, or over snow – an Elf.’

Tolkiem, 2011 ed, p. 292.

I tried hard to not include much from my recent reread of The Fellowship of the Ring but It was pretty hard, it is filled with so many incredible quotes. I include quotes from my favourite reads ever and while there are so many more I have condensed it to this 10 for now.

What is your favourite quote?

Leave a comment