Wrap up

My January Wrap up

Hello Everyone,

Last-minute writing is the worst but this week it has been necessary. In the first month of the year, I read more than I thought I would. I read 7 books, 6 physical books and 1 audiobook. In terms of genre, I read 2 contemporary romances, 1 middle-grade, 1 philosophy graphic fiction, 2 YA and 1 adult. This month I began annotating books in a way I have never done before and it enhanced my enjoyment of both books I annotated.

Delilah Green Doesn't Care by Ashley Herring Blake | Add on Goodreads

Rating: 3 out of 5.

My first book of the year and unfortunately I was disappointed. I thought the romance was very instant, it was spread over two weeks and when one left they were heartbroken and pining. I just didn’t find it believable. I likes some of the characters, Claire owned a bookshop, and Iris created stationary. Ruby was Claire’s daughter, I liked her relationship with her parents and even with Delilah. I enjoyed the spa trip and the camping trip, they had me laughing out loud but for most of the book I just wasn’t feeling it.

Alex Neptune, Dragon Thief by David Owen | Add on Goodreads

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This was a fun adventurous read, quite like Percy Jackson. It had a great cast of characters: Alex, Zoey, Bridgit and Anil. The animals were super cute even the Water Dragon was at times. The otters were the best, and the cutest of them all. I enjoyed the history around the island that this book was set and the discoveries along the way was great as well.

It talks a lot about the ocean and the pollution and all the rubbish that makes its way into the ocean.

The Upside of Falling by Alex Light | Add on Goodreads 

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This was the first book I annotated this year, I highlighted in a book for the first time and actually loved it. This was a reread for me. I enjoyed this book both times but because I annotated it this time I felt I got more enjoyment out of reading it. The romance between Becca and Brett is great, it blurred the lines between fake and real quite quickly but in a good way. They had none of the awkward moments that normally happens and I loved that.

Kingdom of the Feared by Kerri Maniscalco | Add on Goodreads

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This was a great finale to the trilogy. I loved the romance in this one, Emilia and Wrath had moments of doubt but they didn’t last very long. Vittoria is back from the dead, Emilia was angry at her sister’s deceit but quickly forgave her and redirected the anger towards the witches. The plot was great, making everything from previous books really come together. I enjoyed the surprising friendship between Emilia and Envy.

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy | Add on Goodreads

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This is a wonderfully illustrated philosophical book. It contains wisdom and curiosity. The quotes are fantastic. It was an overall fantastic read with quotes I will continually turn to when I need them.

Legendary by Stephanie Garber | Add on Goodreads

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This sequel to Caraval was far better than I was expecting. I didn’t really like Donatella in Caraval but I really liked her in this. I thought she was very interesting and I liked seeing the past from her point of view when it came to what happened to her and Scarlett’s mother. The danger was far more real in this one, the lies just as often but I was quite surprised that Scarlett was keeping secrets from Tella. I loved the romances between Tella and both Dante and Jacks. I liked Jacks a lot as well.

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien | Add on Goodreads

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Another book I annotated, highlighting this book allowed me to notice things I hadn’t really before. This really enhanced my experience reading this and I enjoyed this reread the most because of it. Merry and Pippin will always be my favourite but I appreciated the other characters more in this read as well, Gimli and Legolas and their bromance are the best. I loved the lands we visit and realised the Lord of the Rings is basically my entire aesthetic.

I started reading Rainbow Milk in January but didn’t finish that until the 01 February so I will include that next month, I also finished listening to Under one Roof by Ali Hazelwood yesterday as well. So I have already read two books in February which is a great start.

I am already 5 books ahead which means that reading thicker books is ok, I have the time to do that now. Reading Lord of the Rings always takes about two weeks each because they are so dense.

One thought on “My January Wrap up

Leave a comment